Important Links


Ophea develops the guidelines of safety for all Physical Education activities. These are developed with help from OSBIE, OASPHE, OFSAA and CIRA-ON. For our purposes at SSSAA we use the Secondary Interschool Safety Guidelines that are important for all coaches and organizers to know.

Sports Organizations

We are members of Ontario Federation of School Athletic Associations (OFSAA). This is the Provincial Championship organization who also has rules bodies that guide sports provided by SSSAA.

Important Eligibility Links: OFSAA Hub – Team Registration System | OFSAA Age Classification Policy | OFSAA Transfer Policy | OFSAA Playing Regulations | OFSAA Constitution and Bylaws

We are the central member of Northwestern Ontario Secondary Schools Athletics Association (NWOSSAA). We’re bordered to the west by the Northwestern Ontario Secondary Schools Athletics Association (NorWOSSA) and to the east by North Shore Secondary Schools Athletics Association (NSSSAA). This our regional championship organization.

Northwestern Ontario Secondary Schools Athletics Association (NorWOSSA) is the Western Branch of NWOSSAA. They serve a massive area which comprises of three ‘AA’ schools and eight ‘A’ schools.

School Boards

Conseil scolaire de district catholique des Aurores boreales (CSDCAB) is home to French language based schools in the region. Les Viperes (The Vipers) of Ecole secondaire catholique de la Verendrye are the lone representative part of SSSAA.

Lakehead Public Schools (LPS) has over 20 schools in Thunder Bay and the region. Hammarskjold High School (Vikings), Superior Collegiate & Vocational Institute (Gryphons) and Westgate Collegiate & Vocational Institute (Tigers) are the three high school members of SSSAA.

Lac des Mille Lacs First Nation is a pair of reservations west of Thunder Bay under Grand Council Treaty #3. Seventh Fire Secondary School was created in 2019 and the Eagles started play in the 2021-22.

Northern Nishnawbe Education Council (NNEC) is a First Nations education organization housed out of Lac Seul First Nation. The Thunder Hawks of Dennis Franklin Cromarty High School are the lone representative of SSSAA.

Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board (TBCDSB) is home to Catholic based education in the city. St. Ignatius High School (Falcons) and St. Patrick High School (Saints) are the two secondary school members of SSSAA.