Pete Beach Award

This award is named in honour of Mr. N.A. “Pete” Beach, a former Executive Director of OFSAA who recognized early in his career that “school sport possessed a substantial and verifiable capacity to contribute, beyond sport, to a young person’s future career and life.” For the next fifty years he devoted his energy to the organizational development of school sport and thus to the service of young people. The award is presented annually, in each of the eighteen geographical conferences within the province, to an educator who, “embodies, and indicates by example, the highest traditions of the sports person: one who best typifies the true function of the teacher-coach – a source of discipline, a mentor and a friend.” Because this award is given out as a NWOSSAA Award, SSSAA celebrates their winner every three years while NorWOSSA and NSSSAA give out an award to their winner in between.

Past SSSAA Winners


Lauri McFarlane
Harry Curtis
Kathy Clouthier
Roger Sutherland
Bobo Penner
Rob Haworth
Lee Batstone
George Paddington


Rob Murphy
Brian McLeod
Roger Bradford
Ted Murphy
Albert Slivinski
Reino Niemi
Dan Walter